ATSC Shuffles Board

Some big shakeups are coming to the board of the Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC). The group just announced several new appointments and re-elections to its board starting in January 2024.

ATSC re-upped Mark Aitken from Sinclair Broadcast Group for another 3-year term. They also voted in a couple of new faces: Dr. Paul Hearty from Samsung and Kerry Oslund from E.W. Scripps Company. On the tech side, the IEEE appointed Guy Bouchard to rep them on the board.

Outgoing members saying bye next year include Mark Corl of Triveni Digital and Jon Fairhurst from Samsung. ATSC President Madeleine Noland gave a shoutout to the outgoing and continuing members: “Our board of execs from broadcast, cable and consumer tech bring tons of experience to help guide ATSC through ongoing change.”

Other current members sticking around include reps from NAB, SMPTE, Nexstar Media, PBS, Sony, LG, Pearl TV and more. Richard Friedel from Broadcast Advocate will complete his term in 2023 as Chairman.