Samsung Electronics Names New Management Team

kinamkimKinam Kim.Samsung Electronics has announced its new management line-up, following the announcement that CEO and Vice Chairman Oh-Hyun Kwon is stepping down.

Presidents Kinam Kim, Hyunsuk Kim and Dongjin Koh will take over from Vice Chairman Kwon, Presidents Boo-Keun Yoon and Jong-Kyun Shin respectively, as heads of the Device Solutions, Consumer Electronics and IT & Mobile Communications divisions, with immediate effect.

Yoon and Shin cited Kwon’s decision to resign, paving the way for new leadership, as the catalyst for their own decisions to leave the company.

Hyunsuk Kim.

dongjin kohDongjin Koh.Kinam Kim has worked for Samsung since 1981, serving as head of the Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, CEO of Samsung Display and head of the Memory and System LSI Businesses during his career, as well as heading up the company’s semiconductor business.

Hyunsuk Kim is revered within the company for his contribution to Samsung’s leading position in global TV sales for the 11th year running, having spearheaded multiple technological breakthroughs.

Dongjin Koh served as head of mobile research and development, and played a significant role in the development of the Galaxy range of smartphones.

Elsewhere, President Sang-Hoon Lee will also leave his role as CFO with immediate effect, and has been recommended by outside board members to take over from Oh-Hyun Kwon as chairman of the board. The board’s next AGM is scheduled for March 2018—Kwon, Yoon and Shin will serve the remainder of their terms.